Amazon's Hiring AI discriminated against women

• I guess they actually used it? And that when they removed men/women from the AI it didn’t change much.

I’m not an AI programmer at a trillion dollar company.

But did they really not make it so that the AI doesn’t see a difference between man/woman like it wouldn’t see a difference between race? Like the AI would think those are the same terms?

Are they that incompetent or is there something they’re hiding?

No adblock/paywall article for those interested. Amazon’s algorithm had learned to select based on it’s previous well of experience with resumes (mostly from men). It then eventually started to select against resumes with the word “women” in them (ie: “women’s chess club” is an example stated in this article), because most of the resumes it had learned from were men’s.

Reminds me a little of a similar story that a CS professor of mine once shared. https://www.autoblog.com/2011/05/31/women-voice-command-systems/

3 Likes

Just goes to show that racial and sex differences are something you have to force people and machines not to recognize.

2 Likes

Was it only discriminating against cvs with words like “women” in it?

This looks like classic overfitting.

If you train it on a pool of one specific datatype, it’ll fit to that type, and reject/misinterpret anything outside of what it was trained on.

1 Like

Sounds like an honest mistake. I hope they don’t catch too much flak for this.

1 Like

That was one example given in the article. It also mentioned it was biased in favor of resumes with certain masculine turns of phrase, “executed” and “captured" being the references in the article. (Not sure why those are considered more ‘manly’, but ?)

I would say it’s definitely not malicious but a funny look into how having a small pool to base your system off can mess the whole thing up lol.

3 Likes

I dunno if a small pool is the problem, but that it was just analysing trends.