Alternatives for RHEL(and the others)

I’m a sysadmin in Romania, we are using centos 7 for our servers, I have just started to rewrite our stuff for rocky 9 recently… After the recent news, I’m uncertain about the future prospects of RHEL-based distros. There’s no way that our clients will pay for a rhel license, those prices are not made for this market.

So I think we will have to use a different distro for our software. Right now there are 4 candidates: Oracle Linux, OpenSUSE, Debian, maybe Ubuntu.

I have only experience with Ubuntu, but I don’t like it at all. Snaps are weird, the update system is weird too, I don’t feel like it’s a predictable and reliable distro.

Maybe Oracle Linux isn’t affected by the removal of the source code? Is it really 100% compatible with rhel? Same configs, quirks and bugs?

Any suggestions, experiences with other distros as servers?

Why not CentOS Stream? RHEL is built from CentOS Stream and RHEL fixes get (eventually) merged into Stream.

I think Centos Stream is upstream to RHEL, so they fix stuff there before it gets merged into rhel. Also there’s one version of Stream afaik, what happens if they update some software that breaks my current config? Not updating regularly is not a smart move security wise.

Well Fedora is the upstream of Stream and Fedora Rawhide is where untested stuff goes, so CentOS Stream has a couple layers of buffer against that

1 Like

Debian is more ‘stable’ than Ubuntu, for values of stable. Unless you are running software that requires specific rhel compatible libs I would go with that…
Oracle Linux had the same approach as CentOS/Rocky, pulling sources from rhel and recompiling/repackaging with the same exact combination of packages

They have their version of the kernel (uek kernel) that supports dtrace/online patching but they also distribute a rhel version of the kernel in each release for people who needs one to one compatibility with rhel