Alternative to R for statistical work - RAM usage in R is crazy!

Hello everyone,

While I'm an old hand at PC building for gaming purposes, I am very new to programming and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on a relatively easy to use langauge for the purposes of statistical work that also manages RAM usage in a semi-decent manner.

In short, I have been running R based calculations as a part of my thesis (population genetics related) and have found the RAM requirements to be simply nuts. At current I am having to run things on a node of the cluster in my department with over 100 gigs of RAM in order to not have the job fail.

To be brief, I have a couple of hundred thousand genetic markers and three populations (n=63, n=192 and n=203 individuals respectively), for which I am running pairwise marker by marker statistical comparisons (A-B, A-C and B-C) that are then x1000 bootstrapped for 95% CIs as a part of quality control. As you have no doubt gathered R seems to be very inefficient at this (I have faith in how it has been coded, the person who helped me with the script is involved with official R support).

Some of the bioinformatics folks in my lab have mentioned that R is just a pain like that, and that other langauges may be better - I was just wondering if anyone had any pointers on where to start.

try java i guess. I'm not a programmer but it has built in memory management.

Why not ask your R support guy all these questions? Basically, R is the best free and open source tool on the market. However there are alternatives, such as SAS, SPSS, and some others. They will cost you an arm and a leg, specially compared to free.

I have asked him, the RAM usage issues are pretty much unavoidable - the software just doesn't 'clean up after itself' very well when looping a function.