Advice on RAMDisk?

Hello!  This is my first post! I'm seeking some advice:

First off, i'm not a computer expert, however i did build my machine.  I don't overclock, because i like to extend the life of my processor.  The equipment i have is all about 6 years old, but will run Skyrim on ultimate settings with just a bit of lag during a large outdoor scene. (CPU: Intel i7 [email protected], GPU: GeForce 9600 GT)

I have yet to download RAMDisk, as i'm unsure of how i could really use it.  I have 16GB of RAM, and i know that not even half of that is being used.  I looked at RAMDisk, and it looks like it could put my unused memory to use somehow.  I'm not too interested in using it for streaming or web browsing, so I guess i'm looking for other suggestions.

I'm a digital artist, and within a year or so I'm going to move over to SSDs, as well as upgrade my GPU and CPU, but for now, i'm wondering if there is a way to speed up production, or at least minimize the chance of a large file (such as a PSD or Maya file) from bogging down.  

Maybe it isn't possible, but what are the chances of being able to use my unused memory as some kind of extra cache for large files?

Are there solutions for this without using RAMDisk, or do i just have an unusable amount of RAM?  Thank you!

You really need to go to SSD, that will speed up everything.

Anyway, I use a 4GB RAM disk (the DataRAM RAMDisk software has been working nicely) for temporary folders mostly. I've also assigned some stuff like Photoshop's scratch-file to it. Not really so much for performance reasons, but it would make more of a difference that way until you get an SSD into the system. I'm mostly enjoying the fact that temporary files are sure to be gone after a reboot.

I think what i'm gonna do is buy a 500GB SSD to use as my C drive, and use my old ones as backups/extra storage.  At least until i can replace them with other SSDs.