Advice on a CPU setup that can serve me for a while

With ryzen and also with kaby lake on the market, i'm starting to consider to upgrade my main computer to have a little more performance. I'm a student so that means i'm not able to make upgrades every year or two years, as the title says i'm looking for a CPU setup that can last me a for a good amount of time something like 4 or 5 years for example and considering that the gpu market evolves more faster, to be able to keep up with most gpus.

I know "future proofing" it's impossible, tech evolves every year and we get better and better hardware either more faster or efficient. But i'm looking for something i can be set for years to come until i feel the need to upgrade when i start to do more intensive tasks.

The usage of my PC currently it's gaming and school. I'm studying computer engineering but i don't do any heavy tasks, all i do in my computer for school is mostly programming and maybe some software for electronics here and there but nothing heavy or complicated.

For gaming i'm planning to get a 1080p 144Hz monitor so i would like to stay on the 144fps range for competitive/fps/online? games like CS:GO or Rocket League for example and on AAA titles stay on 60fps.

I don't mind either AMD or Intel, just something that can meet my requirements.

Thanks for reading and sorry for the long post :p.

Max budget && would you mind if the computer suggested is an OEM machine? ( oem meaning dell, hp etc. )

I was going to get me one of these because I can't Ryzen either:

I'm on mobile so give me a bit. But there is CPU support paper out on the HP website. If you get the 2nd version of the block code, you can upgrade this thing to a 12 core v2 Xeon. You know, for down the road stuff.

Found it: http://h20195.www2.hp.com/v2/GetPDF.aspx/4AA4-0129ENUC

Also block code talk: https://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Business-PCs-Workstations-and-Point-of-Sale-Systems/Z620-upgrade-to-E5-2640-V2-CPU/td-p/5053539

2 Likes