Advice for a new linux user?

Hi, this is my first post here.
I’ve grown frustrated with Microsoft and Windows, so Im looking to give Linux a shot. There are a couple important things that I want to double check before I make the plunge.
About me: Im a 3D modeler and rigger. I have a technical background, but only a little experience with computer languages and OSes. Im hoping to learn Linux and Python in the near future.

Can the helpful folks of this forum direct me towards a distro that will best support the following?

*Run blender 2.78+
*Have basic support for Wacom Inutuos Drivers
*Ideally run Substance Painter, Autodesk Maya, Zbrush, Photoshop
*Support multimonitor setup.
*Support using one 4k monitor and two 1080p monitors at once

My second question is: When I install Linux, should I make a new partition on my 960 EVO 512gb SSD, or install a new drive for Linux?

My PC specs are:
Ryzen 7 1700X 3.8gHz
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Asus GTX 1080ti Strix
Corsair RGB 32gb 3000mHz
Corsair HXi 750
Lian Li PC-O9
lots of ssd and hdd storage
Custom watercooling

couple of things:

• You can run blender on any distro that can run steam, the repo versions are usually out of date anyway, so this is probably the most convenient option

• Wacom tablets have had kernel drivers and a xorg plugin since late 2012, so no worries there.

• multi monitor should work fine out of the box on the nvidia proprietary drivers as long as you don’t use a distro that comes with wayland, and multi-resolution is ok (hidpi is a mixed bag but all the screens should play nicely)

so really you can use whatever. for that stuff.

maya works best on CentOS, as do many other autodesk products. Photoshop cs6 will run in wine with a little tweaking.

Substance painter works flawlessly in wine, and zbrush will too with a little persuasion. Just don’t expect any 3d programs you run in WINE to run at full speed.

1 Like