Advice about NVME SSD Samsung PM963 960GB

Hi, its my first time posting here and I’m looking for some advice, i have the opportunity to pick up what looks to be second hand Samsung PM963 960GB m.2 SSD for 170 euro, including tax with a 1 year warranty. From what i can find out its an enterprise grade drive. i have no experience with nvme drives at all, but im planning on upgrading to a Ryzen 2600x and Gigabyte X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING pretty soon, quicker if the drive is a good deal. I cant seem to see any reason why the drive wouldn’t work. so this is mainly a sanity check, any help our advice would be appreciated.

The PM963 is the cheaper variant of the SM963 if you want to see it like me. I think it’s a good deal for 170€. Just keep in mind that it’s 110mm long and therefore a little longer than standard M.2 SSDs. Make sure it fits in your system.

1 Like

Well I own the Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD and it’s epic, instant, even with a bit of ageing, my monitor takes longer to turn on than what it takes for my to be able to get into the OS. I can only imagine that the PM963 would be amazing!

But as @Tytan64 said, make sure your system is compatible with the length of the PM963, if all is well and you have the money, then I wouldn’t think twice! :wink:

2 Likes

@Tytan64 @Argon Thanks guys, i was thinking it was a good deal. I’ll double check that it will fit with the motherboard I’m looking to get. I think ill buy the system next week. :smiley: thanks again.

2 Likes

No problem at all, it’s a pleasure, talking about hardware is basically my cocaine, I can’t get enough of it! :joy:

Keep in mind that this warranty is not for consumers. This is an OEM drive, you will get no support and no warranty from the manufacturer.

Other then that, 170€ sounds way too cheap for that drive. Somethings smells fishy in here.

Not really, just an OEM drive.