Adobe software on a Home Server

I would like to get some feedback/thoughts from the technology crowd out there on a topic new to me. Warning long post and sorry for the randomness of thought.

A little background first: I am a Civil Engineer by day and a enthusiast of technology by night. So bear with me as my depth with computers are limited.

I have the following computers in the house:

Desktop Workstation: i7-3770K, 32GB ram, GTX 670, 512gb ssd Win 7 pro

Mobile Workstation: Lenovo x220, i7 (Dual Core), 16GB ram, 512GB ssd Win 8 Pro

SERVER: Xeon E5-2660, 32GB ram, 15TB Total HD space. 256GB boot drive, Intel Pro 1000 pt quad NIC. Windows server 2012 Essentials

Laptop: Toshiba i5, 8gb, 256GB ssd Win 7 pro

HTPC 1: i5,8GB, 256GB ssd Win 7 Pro

HTPC 2: i3, 4GB, 128GB ssd Win 7 Pro

And IPAD and a Microsoft Surface and 2 android Phones…

My Network is comprised of a Wireless N consumer router, Netgear 24 port gigabit managed switch, and Four CAT 6 lines to every room in the house. The 2012 servers NIC has teaming enabled and handles all DNS, DHCP roles as it’s the domain controller. I will most likely be building a pfsense box early next year or get a router that can handle a custom firmware. Following that I will setup a VPN server so I can access and encrypt my data when I am outside of the network.

Now my question/thought/solution

I am a amature Photographer and use Adobe products quite a bit (Mostly lightroom) but think this can really be expanded to most programs (excluding games). One annoying thing about Lightroom is it does not (officially) allow you to keep your catalogue (The file with all you edits) on the network. The guy at adobe who came up with not allowing that must have been drunk. My dilemma is I edit on my main Workstation (i7-3770K) and I go on my laptop (levono x220) and want to continue to edit but I have to back up the catalogue and load it. This gets old real quick going between workstations backing up and such.