A noob setting up all the IT for a small business -mistake?

I work for a small-sized empolyee-owned business and we’ve bought ourselves out from or mother company and so we’re in need of our own IT infrastructure.

The requirements are fairly simple.

• Storage server with backup and remote backup (TrueNas most likely)

• VPN and client solution for employees to access file server and maybe software licenses (we’re not that many so might just have local licenses )

• Networking for the office, Wi-Fi for most and wired for a few workstations.

Alternative addons to consider are

• Email hosting

• Website hosting

I’ve considered trying to set this up my self since I’ve got 4 months before it actually needs to be working I can take my time fiddling with it.

Is it a mistake to try and DIY a company system like this?
Are there any obvious pitfalls to avoid when it comes to creating a secure and independent system like this?

I’ve never done it before, but I think I could set this up for personal use without major issues (I watch a lot of L1 techs >_<) but setting up the IT for my livelihood is not something to do on a whim, but it could be a huge cost saver (or cripple the company if it’s unsecure and buggy).

So far I’d be looking at buying Ubiquity networking gear (sorry wendell, there are limited options in Norway) and a bunch of drives to set up a server and if it all fails we can hire people to set this up for us, might even save money on the hardware this way.

(Questions in bold)

4 months to fiddle with it? Not enough time. Hire a company.

6 Likes