A new PC build

Thinking about getting a new PC. This would be my first configuration. Currently I have a Windows 10 laptop, an IMac 2013 (to be passed on to the wife) and a Synology NAS.

I have no knowledge about hardware. I have never put a PC build together and will pass that task towards a shop.

Some requirements

• Longevity - 6 to 8 years?
  • Upgradable - would be nice, don’t know if needed
  • Extensibility, if the need arises, don’t know if needed
    • GPU passthrough?
    • Thunderbolt 3?
    • Additional disks for backup?
  • Silent - I have auditory processing problems.
  • Strong preference to go Linux on this box.
    • I have previous desktop experience with Slackware/Dropline and Ubuntu, but nothing serious. I have some command line and bash experience. I checked out Manjaro and Arch in a VM.

My attempt to put something together on PCPartPicker https://pcpartpicker.com/user/solarflight/saved/yfbjZL

• Why the Gigabyte Vision D B550? My reasoning is below, feel free to counter.
    • With an X570 there is a fan except for the Xtreme. But that one is very expensive.
    • Intel ethernet
    • Will maybe not need the thunderbolt 3
  • Are additional cooling fans needed?

The extra info

• Budget.
    • About € 2000, but I prefer to spend based on my needs. Don’t mind paying a bit more for ‘silent’ and/or quality.
  • Country and currency
    • Belgium, €
  • Is there a retailer you prefer?
    • Nope.
  • Do you need or already have peripherals? (this can add to costs)
    • Current Audio Interface: iconnect audio 4+
    • Current monitor: BenQ PD2700U
    • Current mouse: Kensington Orbit Trackball
    • Current keyboard: IBM Sk-8845 ThinkPad Travel USB Keyboard
      • Contemplating on an ergonomic one
  • What will you be using your Glorious computer for? Gaming? Rendering? Mix of both? Or is this a home media PC or Steam Box?