$700 Upgrade

So I'm a student looking to upgrade by basically building a new computer. I'm what I would like to consider computer literate, so I've already taken a lot of time and looked at quite a few options, but I can't seem to find one much better than this:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/HxcH

I hold no particular preference for brand or manufacturer, so long as the color schemes don't make my eyes bleed. Like most of the things from Gigabyte. Not that I don't like their parts for funtionality, but if I ever get around to modding a side panel window into the case, I would really like to be able to enjoy the view instead of grimacing every time.

As far as the budget goes, it will be in the direct neighborhood of $700 (US Dollars, because I'm in the US.) And I will be using an existing SATA HDD. Just so you know what my current build resembles and you don't feel like looking at my account info:

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/HxrB

The problem I'm currently having is that it will play most games when I drop the settings to medium at 1080p and leave most of the filters off. And when I'm running multiple tasks the system will hang since it only has two functional threads, so I would really like to have at least four. Another thing is that this motherboard and CPU combo doesn't support any overclocking at all, so I'm really looking for a board to really test it out with and push timings and optimizations.

Thanks for your help and I look forward to reading the comments.

Just get a 970 mobo instead of a 990FX since you're getting a Phenom 2, Jesus don't buy a V8, they are hideous and don't cool anywhere near to the price they charge. Also, just get 1866 ram. Rest is fine.

This will give you a little more bang for your buck

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/HxAL