5950X ---> Threadripper

“Your topic is similar to…” esc X, “Welcome to Level1Techs Forums —” esc X, hmmmm, it’s interesting to me, I am not really good at much but I think it will be OK, maybe someone else wanting a threadripper would be interested, it matters because all this involves a lot of money and time and instead of building this thing I could be on the clock for one of my clients but then I wouldn’t learn as much or be able to repair it as easy in the future, I would like respectful polite helpful responses, OK others need to be able to fiiiiind it, got it, OK category?

Now for the actual post:
I haven’t done a build since 2005 and never fully recovered from throwing out my back the last time I tried to pick that one up (full tower Lian Li). As I type this there is an unopened AMD 5950X on my desk / bench, $602.00 and change out the door at Best Buy with a 60 day return policy. I already bought 10 motherboards and 5 more CPUs and stacks of RAM and PSUs and everything but it was all imaginary. I need a new machine so I can feel EXTREMELY superior to 99% of the people I meet on the bricks (and possibly some of you here), and maybe some video editing, for fun, yea I got a YouTube channel and I want to be famous too.

Praise, admiration, and total domination are my ultimate goals, in Donkey Kong. My new wife, 18.8 years my junior, Dani B, asked the other night, “how much will the whole system cost”, not that she really even cares, but maybe she is concerned about the future, some, when I stated $1,500.00 to $3,500.00 just for the processor, she didn’t bat an eye, yea I married an amazing woman. The word Threadripper just has this sort of dangerous, crazy, out of control sound to it, and now I want one, the question is…drum roll please…surprise…which one and for how much??