Return to Level1Techs.com

5700xt on popos

I can’t get pop!_os to acknowledge my 5700 xt at all. getting all the latest updates does nothing. Installing the amd drivers just makes the screen go blank and the machine won’t reboot. Does anyone here know a workaround? Oh, and I’m totally new to Linux so if it’s not too much to ask, explain and elaborate. I want to learn. :slight_smile:

Please install aptitude (i.e., run sudo apt install aptitude) and then share the output of

aptitude search '~i?or(radeon,amdgpu,xserver-xorg-core,linux-image-)' -F '%p %v' --disable-columns

(aptitude is another command-line frontend for APT (Advanced Packaging Tool), Debian’s high-level package management system, also shared by Ubuntu, PopOS, and other distros. Besides slightly different dependency resolution behavior, it offers greater power and flexibility in searching and formatting output than other frontends, like apt-get/apt-cache or the apt command. You can read about the search patterns used above here.)

1 Like

Welcome to the forum @schwebbz. I went ahead and gave you your own thread so it gets more eyes and so the other thread doesnt get derailed with tech support.

1 Like

(wow, that’s a neat Discourse feature

I haven’t been on forums much since the PHPBB days and I gotta say, that flexibility to not just move a whole thread but to basically truncate and fork a thread is really nice)

okay, here goes:

libdrm-amdgpu1 2.4.97-1ubuntu1
libdrm-amdgpu1:i386 2.4.97-1ubuntu1
libdrm-radeon1 2.4.97-1ubuntu1
libdrm-radeon1:i386 2.4.97-1ubuntu1
linux-image-5.0.0-21-generic 5.0.0-21.22+system76
linux-image-5.0.0-29-generic 5.0.0-29.31
linux-image-generic 5.0.0.29.30
xserver-xorg-core 2:1.20.4-1ubuntu3
xserver-xorg-video-amdgpu 19.0.1-1
xserver-xorg-video-radeon 1:19.0.1-0ubuntu1

What kernel are you running as well? Try and update the kernel as well and reboot

@ AcldzDesigns, Linux 5.0.0-29-generic. No updates available.

Current kernel is 5.3.1