51 yr old auto mechanic builds his first PC

Nothing much will make you feel older than hanging out in a tech forum. I decided I wanted to build a PC from scratch. (A first for me) I'm pretty far from being a tech expert, I work on cars for a living. But I've been disenchanted with the last couple of desktops that I've bought. They ship with bloated add-ons and software I'll never use. My current machine sounds like a Top Gear hovervan creation. I wanted something faster, quieter and future-upgradable. (I'm not a fan of the term "future proof")

My wife and I host a weekly AM broadcast radio program, so I need to be able to edit MP3 files for interviews, product reviews etc... We have future plans to start making some videos and uploading to YouTube. So, I need a little bit of power. Plus, I'm a bit of a geek for racing sims.

So, I've done some research and formulated a plan.

Case: Corsair Spec-O2 (Not the best case, but it was on sale for $49.99 and it will do what I need)
Motherboard: MSI 970 Gaming (I may have fallen victim to the red bling on this one.)
PSU: Corsair CX750 (I actually regret buying this one on sale. The price was right, but I think I may go for a different PSU with modular cable capabilities)
RAM: Patriot Viper 2x4GB (Had to continue the red bling theme)

That's what I've purchased for it so far.
Planned purchases:
CPU: AMD 8350
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master 212 Hyper
SSD: 120GB or so. (Plan to put OS and some games on there)
HDD: Probably will pick up whatever's on sale when I'm ready for that 1TB or so.
GPU: Undecided. I want to to step up big, but this will be budget driven.
OS: Windows 8 with the intent to upgrade to 10 when it releases.

I'd be interested in hearing any thoughts or constructive criticism from those with more tech know-how than me.

4 Likes

Keep us posted and take some pics of the build process if you can. I would enjoy seeing this. Good luck.

1 Like

If you could use pcpartpicker.com from here on in that would be nice.