5 Great (Modern) Games to Chase Away the AAA Blues | Level One Techs

Hello there, Level1 Community! Recently, we released a video chock full of great freeware games to check when you're looking to get away from the lootbox infested, designed-by-committee world of AAA video games. However, a lot of these games hew a little older, so for those of you looking for a more modern experience, here are 5 great recent games to play when you want to wash away the AAA blues.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://level1techs.com/article/5-great-modern-games-chase-away-aaa-blues
4 Likes

Access Denied… :frowning:

Half-Life 2

Loading…

Should be working fine now? Our editor wrote this article, this was his first time posting. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello, everyone! I hope you enjoy the article; this is my first time writing anything for the site! I hope to write about more gaming stuff in the future, so if you have any suggestions please give me a shout!

6 Likes

Working now

Pretty good selection of games there. There is one other modern game people could play to chase away the AAA Blues:

Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice

Fair warning this game is not for the faint of heart. The story is dark, the combat is intense, and it is a very pretty game [The image has a ReShade Preset I made applied to it]:

That is in game. Game takes about 8 hours and 30 minutes to play, comes with built in camera mode. I’d recommend for people who like games like: Dark Souls, Spec Ops The Line, and The Last of Us. I love it and plan on playing it again.

4 Likes

When you have to only pick 5 it’s difficult to leave out a lot of good games I think. A good selection though, some I haven’t played.

1 Like

Fresh off the presses, it’s Subnautica: (Unknown Worlds is still considered a somewhat Indie dev supported by funding from Microsoft)

Cat Quest is also great:

And these two you may have to have a little bit of tolerance for:

Getting over it with Bennett Foddy

and