$3.5 Million Build Log (Cryo-Electron Microscope Facility Installation)

$3.5 Million Cryo-Electron Microscope Install Build Log

I thought maybe some people would find this interesting, as it’s not exactly an every day occurrence, and yet has managed to be the bulk of my life for the past couple of years.

Background

I’m a PhD student working in a laboratory that is dedicated to solving high-resolution structures of various proteins and viruses. What that essentially means is that we are trying to build atomic-level 3D maps of macromolecular structures. I was initially drawn to the field because I’m not a particularly good biologist, and the thought of just being able to look at these things made it seem a lot simpler of a path to understand them.

Why am I acting like this is interesting to anyone here?

1. I think the biology is universally fascinating, especially in light of a major biological epidemic impacting everyone’s lives recently. The ability to create high resolution maps of molecules helps us identify what different proteins do. For a few examples, what if there’s a mutation in a gene that makes everyone die young? One of the ways we figure out why that’s happening is by looking at the protein that the gene makes. Or if we want to see if/how a particular drug works, we can look at the drug with its target to see if it’s working the way we designed it to. Or in many cases, we don’t actually design the drug, but rather screen thousands of potential chemical compounds with the target protein to see if any of them do affect the target protein, and then we investigate how that mechanism works. For instance, here is an image of a protein (I believe a phospholipase) bound to a common drug nearly everyone has tried: aspirin. (The protein being the big colorful chain, the aspirin being the beige molecule in the middle).

(Source: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/10611860400024078)