280mm vs 360mm

So I am kinda new to the Water cooling market, and my case can support 120mm, 280mm, or a 360mm rad. I have read that 120mm is basically no better than air, so I started googling some prices. I thought that the 360mm would be much better, but the price only like $10 - $20 away from the 280mm ones, so is getting a 360mm rad really worth it. If it matters I am running a r7 1700 if it matters.

There are way to many factors to say what size is best. Fins per inch, thickness of rad, flow rate, air flow, ect.

2 Likes

Assuming everything being the same the 360 has more surface area on the face by about 9% not including depth.

Okay I guess I am going to need to start doing more research. :slight_smile:

Its honestly not going to make much difference, your not going to get drastic temp differences and the lower temp difference wont give you better overclocking. Personally I would go 280 should be more then enough cooling and will fit more cases and will save you a few $$.

Yes but if we are being honest a 360mm rad would dope AF. So kind of want one.

2 Likes

Its more of a hassle then you would think depending on the case. Are you doing AIO or custom loop?

I am doing an AIO. I have a phanteks elite p400.

Most 360 AIOs are crap. A thick 280mm would perform better.

120/140 and 240mm AIOs are worthless.

EDIT:

Go with a Kraken X62.

I wouldn't say useless, depends on cpu / gpu its cooling and case confinements.

Whats the warranty like on Kraken? I thought Corsair had one of the better warranties on AIOs.

See I had looked at that one, but I don't really need all the rgb, so I was thinking more along the lines of an evga clc. Steve from Gamers' Nexus says that they are about the same in performance, but the evga one is $20 cheaper.

Ehh mostly useless.

Unless you have a very small mITX case, like say a Corsair 250D with limited cooler height then yeah it can be useful.