2 motherboards 1 PSU

I just thought of an idea for my build and it’s kept me up all night just thinking about it. I was wondering if it would be safe to run two motherboards to run off 1 power supply given the wattage is sufficient to power both?. Im no electrical engineer so I’m not sure that I’ve considered all the possible hazards. I know there are solutions by phanteks that do this but they have a reputation for being unreliable or even dangerous due to the way it’s accomplished. Obviously I’d only be giving 1 motherboard access to the psu-on pin. Also are there any logic related pins on the 24 pin plug that I would need to be aware of (like sense or something)?

To the best of my knowledge you can do this as long as the PSU meets the power requirements of the hardware. One thing to be aware of is that you’ll need a good quality PSU as it could trigger the Overvoltage protections circuit if both systems draw max power at the same time. I’m not aware of any technologies on PSU’s that would actively detect the number of devices plugged in.

Note if you decide to make a custom solution I would make sure to thoroughly research what you are doing and possibly consult with an EE(be prepared to pay a lot of money)

Here is a 24pin diagram:

technically it does work. though ‘PS-ON’ will be out of spec.

if you were to only turn on 1 system, the fans and most accessory power systems on the turned off system will be energized. this is probably fine, probably.

1 Like

I did this back in the day with a couple of old computers for Fold@Home. I took the 20 pin cable (Pre-24 pin days) from one old PSU and spliced it to another.